white peace

IMG_2424

Black is associated with elegance, but also a sad, mourning color.

White on the other hand is a positive color in our culture. It stands for purity, cleanliness and freshness. Doctors wear white, brides wear white and winter wears white – on good days at least. And I always feel like snow is covering the real world, slowing down the busy life and giving us time to just breathe and not being distracted by the outside world. When everything is covered with snow, the world stands still. A canvas to start the day all over and draw a peaceful mind.

I baked some healthy treats and took some pictures and started to think about the meaning of white, because of the white glaze. The lemon and freshness of that color made me think of summer and even though huge, white snowflakes were falling from the sky, I felt like the white on my plate represents just the opposite. Cold winter outside, summer inside. While the snowflakes were covering the trees and grass, bringing peace and stillness to the earth, I was trying to create some summer in the oven.

Frankly, the initial idea was not even summer or any idea at all. The only goal was to use up the egg yolk, that I had left from a birthday cake I made the day before. I could not find any recipe online that would work with only egg yolk and would satisfy my needs. I decided for good old “Vanillekipferl” a traditional German Christmas cookie. It does not need flour, which is good, because I wanted it to be gluten free. Unfortunately, the store I went to did not have the main ingredient – grounded almonds.

So,I went home and had the idea to jut take whatever I have in my kitchen and make some oatmeal- lemon cookies (Yes, it is not gluten free, but I thought for a second it was and just realized that this cannot be, when I saw how sticky the dough was). So, my glutenfree friends would not be able to eat my winter-summer treats, but it was too late to change it. I made the dough of the ingredients I had at home, hoping it would turn out ok. I wanted to make a healthy treat, so I did not use sugar, but honey to sweeten it. Everything was basically try and error, but it came out pretty well.

I made some of the little oatmeal balls with dark chocolate and the rest with lemon glaze. Because the lemon glaze goes more with the healthy and summer theme, these are the ones I took the pictures of.

 

So, if you ever have egg yolks at home and want to make something healthy and fresh, here is the recipe:

 

oatmeal lemon cookies

 

2 cups oatmeal

100g butter, melted

3-4 Tbsp honey (or more or less, depending on how sweet you like it)

4 egg yolks (pretty sure it works with 2 whole eggs as well)

1 tsp lemon zest

1 tsp lemon juice

1 package vanilla pudding (for cooking)

¼ – ½ tsp baking soda

cranberries or raisins

lemon juice and powdered sugar for glaze

 

  1. Mix all ingredients until well combined
  2. Bake approx. 15 – 20 min at 175°C
  3. let cool
  4. mix lemon juice with powedered sugar until thick and smooth.
  5. glaze the oatmeal balls and let dryIMG_2538

I hope you enjoy these little treats. Summer or winter, snow or sunshine..these little, healthy balls will roll into your stomach and make you smile.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

