coco goes nuts with coconut

Image

Like I said in my last post, Easter is coming.. closer and closer.. almost there. Time to think about Easter cakes, cupcakes and other pastries 🙂 Did I mention that I like Easter? Oh, yes.. I did.. but I really need to repeat that, because I don’t only love the yummy breakfast, but also the opportunity to make a huge mess in the kitchen with flour, sugar and all the ingredients one needs for the traditional Easter pastries. I didn’t start to bake, yet, but I thought I might share one recipe that I made twice last year – Easter Coconut Cupcakes with mascarpone filling. I made them for my colleagues at work and when I realized how fast they were gone I made another batch for my family for Easter sunday. With some “coconut-grass” and chcocolate eggs these cupcakes are a delicious and decorative treat for your Easter breakfast table:

for the cupcakes:
175 g soft butter
225 g sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
225 g flour
2 tsp baking powder
125 ml natural yoghurt
175 g desiccated coconut

for the filling:
200 g mascarpone (or sour cream)
50 g desiccated coconut

for the topping:
desiccated coconut
powdered sugar
lemon juice
green food coloring
chocolate or sugar eggs

1. preheat oven to 200°C / ~400°F
2. beat butter and sugar until fluffy and light
3. add eggs and vanilla extract
4. mix flour and baking powder in seperate bowl.
5.  along with the yoghurt, sift the flour mixture into the butter mixture
6. add coconut and mix until just blended
7. fill a cupcake pan with the batter and bake for 15-20 minutes
8. let cool completely
9. for the filling, mix the mascarpone with the coconut in a small bowl (I used cream cheese)
10. cut a little lid off from each cupcake and make a small hole
11. fill the cupcakes with a teaspoon of the filling
12. replace the lids
13. for the topping mix powdered sugar with lemon juice and food coloring until smooth. (The texture should be a little more watery than the usual glazing. The coconut will add some thickness to it)
14. add coconut and mix well until everything is green and smooth
15. place little coconut-nests on each cupcake and decorate with chcocolate or sugar eggs

Like I said, these cupcakes didn’t last long, so I assume they must be good 😉 I hope you enjoy your Easter treats.
Make sure to find all eggs.. Don’t miss any.. unless you want a smelly yard (if you hate your neighbors, for example 😉 )
In any case enjoy the holidays! I sure will.. with baking, baking, baking 🙂 You will hear from me soon 😉

3 thoughts on “coco goes nuts with coconut

Leave a Reply

