the question of the egg and the hen

Image

Easter is coming up and some people cannot wait until they sit down with their families and eat the biggest breakfast of the year. For some people this is because they just looooove this breakfast for its huge amount of different dishes. For some people, because the breakfast takes almost the whole day and for others.. simply because they are craving something they didn’t eat for the last 40 days. I am talking about religious people, who still keep the tradition of abstinence… or people who do this, although they are not religioius, but simply try to live healthier. The time line of 40 days somehow makes it easier. I belong to all of these groups. I LOVE breakfast! My favorite meal of the day and I like the huge variety of things on easter morning …and that there is no lunch 😉 Just breakfast! Yummy! Plus, it is really the end of those 40 days, which means I can start to eat things I resigned for the last couple of weeks.. this year: gummy bears. I can eat a whole package a day.. I wanted to eat healthier, so I decided to replace them. By different kinds of nuts, raisins, fruits etc. Ok, I gained weight during that time, which is like doubled punishment, but I am hoping to do something good for my body anyway. I am also not eating chocolate.. well I try 😉 and cut on all other sweets. But that is just me and it doesn’t mean that my friends do the same. When we met for a movie night a couple of days ago, I wanted to bake something to bring along. Well.. I was not only lacking gummy bears in my tummy, but also eggs in my fridge. A good vegan recipe had to be found and thanks to the internet I found a good one. I chose a basic vegan muffin recipe, which I can modify the way I want.
(http://veg-mag.blogspot.de/2012/06/vegane-muffins-grundrezept.html)

250g flour
150-200ml soy milk
1 tsp baking powder
2 tsp baking soda
50ml vegetable oil
100g sugar
salt

1. mix the flour, baking powder, baking soda, sugar and salt in a bowl
2. add oil and milk
3. add whatever you like 😉 fruits, raisins, almonds, vanilla flavor, other flavors… be creative
4. bake 20 minutes at 200°C

I added ground almonds. The batter was a little too thick, so I added a little more milk. Whatever you add, make sure the texture of the batter is not too thick or too watery.. just right.. you know what I mean 😉 Also, for one third of the batter I added some cocoa and put one tbsp of the dark batter on top of the light. I thought that the dough would not really rise, due to the lacking eggs, but it did… yes, it SURE did!!!!!! I was totally shocked when I took out these huge muffins 🙂 There was not much frosting needed, but I made some anyway.
I like to make Martha Stewart’s frosting. Look it up at her homepage:

1 1/2 cups unsalted butter, room temperature (use margarine for the vegan version)
1 pound (4 cups) confectioners’ sugar, sifted
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Just mix all ingredients in a bowl 🙂 I also add some melted dark chocolate to get a chocolate frosting. I am not really picky about the amount of the ingredients.. I just try to have a nice texture and taste.. Try out what is best for you.

I melted a little more chocolate and sprinkled it on top of the muffins and decorated each with an almond.

I really like that recipe, because it is so easy, fast and leaves a lot of room for creativity.. AND it really IS delicious. Many vegan cupcake recipes turn out to be too dry or stick to the paper.. but this one is really perfect. So, if you happen to have an empty fridge and only a couple of ingredients in your cabinet, but really crave for something sweet.. This is it!

Image

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

